Fragments of nature

Fragments of nature – detail, originally uploaded by gilfling.

Well I have been busy creating some new work – finally! I have had the stirrings of these pieces in my mind for what seems like forever and an age and finally got down to creating them. My particular way of creating is that I have a wee notion of an idea and it bumbles around in my thoughts for such a long time, spinning around, developing and growing over a long period of time until I can’t leave it any longer and have to get to making.

It has been apparent to me for a wee while that my character sculptures have developed into a number of themes – nature – both painted and embroidered; oceon – lighthouses/ships/sea monsters; costumes and a sort of miscelaneous collection of birdcages/windmills etc. I have occassionally worked on a collection of remnants inspired by my reminiscence work with older people and now I find myself making these ‘fragments’.

Although I am still very much the early stages of making these pieces, they will be fragments of the themes that occur within my character sculptures and I am very excited about where they will take me. I have many more ideas for them and am hoping to very much make them a focus of my work along with the character sculptures in the coming months. So far we have this wee collection of embroidered brooches and am looking forward to working on the next set of images.

These will be first shown at the Southwell Minster Spring Craft Fair tomorrow which should be fun! You can see more images on my flickr page here.

Leave a Reply

