Morgandy

BCTF display – Morgandy, originally uploaded by gilfling.

 

Tis Saturday night and I am on the pc catching up on organising my image files (that is how exciting my saturday nights are at the moment!). I re-discovered a whole lot of images that I had not edited or publicised from the British Craft Trade Fair which I exhibited at in April of this year.

Morgandy is absolutely one of my favourite characters that I have created and it was really difficult for me to let her go. Before the show I had decided to keep her for myself but a lovely lady fell in love with her and so she went to a good home.

This can often be one of the difficult things about being a designer/maker. When a piece really comes together in every way and pulls at your heart strings it can be difficult to let go. In this case, her facial expression, the colours of her cloak and the new illustration (free hand-drawn straight onto her cloak and based on a sea-faring map illustration) all just worked and as I look at the photo I really wish that I had kept her. But then again, it is good to know that she is loved and appreciated by a fellow artist too.

Perhaps that perfect combination will happen again in the characters that I have in the pipeline at the moment.

You can see more images of my display from the show here.

2 thoughts on “Morgandy

  1. She’s lovely. I think every artist has to go through what you describe in letting go of their creations. But the thought of the piece bringing a new dimension to someone else’s life is so gratifying. I’m glad Morgandy found form with you and a home with someone sepecial.

  2. I, too, like the color combination very much! She is beautiful, no wonder that you found it difficult to part with. Somehow it is like letting a child go into the world…

Leave a Reply

