Play day

playing with monotypes, originally uploaded by gilfling.

Yesterday was a play day! One of my ambitions for this year is to really make a leap forward in my art making both in subject, technique and inspiration and also to loosen up. I guessed that one of the ways to do this was to play more and work without necessarily thinking about the outcome. Sometimes (often) this can be extremely difficult when what you are making is a large part of your livelihood. This in itself is one of my main sticking points and the thing that brings about those horrible blocks.

I also wanted to think of ways that I could turn my work inside out and upside down. I want to tackle the unfamiliar and get out of my comfort zone and one of the most obvious ways of doing this is to play with different materials and techniques.

I had a tiny opportunity to do a bit of printmaking at art college and in hindsight I really wish I had chosen it as a proper module so that I could have explored it more. I can’t afford to do any printmaking courses at present (although I would love to in the future) so rather than waiting I have decided to just experiment and see where the process takes me.

So a bit of reading and a lot of guesswork means that I am good to go. I want to focus on three types of printmaking this year – monotypes, lino-cutting and collagraphs. With no printing press I am fairly limited in the types of printmaking I can do but I feel that with these three printmaking techniques there is a lot of scope for experimentation.

These were the result of an afternoons playing yesterday and they were a lot of fun to do. Not one of them came out the way I would have liked and at times it was frustrating when I could not get the depth of tone or detail that I was seeking but that is a good thing! It took away the pressure of coming up with finished pieces. There were a lot of mistakes with a dash of frustration but in the end I was happy with the little pile of rough raggedy images.

Tomorrow I will have another look at them and may scan a couple but for now I am happy to have just had the experience of doing something different-to-me.

I am excited to see where all this will take me!

5 thoughts on “Play day

  1. Pingback: Play day « Gillian Lee Smith’s Blog | Joy Corcoran Studio

  2. I just wanted to let you know I reposted this on my blog. You’re such an inspiration. I’m taking an online series of visual journal classes, and your posts really help keep me “arty.” Thanks for sharing!

  3. I hopped across to your blog from flickr. It’s lovely to see what you’ve been doing. I love making monoprints to free me up as well, they often turn into cards or get collaged into my sketchbook. Best wishes for 2011.

Leave a Reply

