Whirling thoughts

6 1 11, originally uploaded by gilfling.

A short post for today. Tis the end of the week and I am feeling more than a little exhausted, cold and quiet. Last night was a waking mix of sratchings in my thoughts, whirling and turning images and words, ideas and inspirations. I go from one extreme to another – either empty of plans for new work or my current state of mind – overwhelmed with too many impressions and possiblilites. I have started to keep a notebook at my bedside for such times which does help and also ensures nothing is lost.

Both can be draining but I know I would rather be in the present – I just need to calm my thoughts and take one step at a time. I think these daily sketches are the beginnings….

3 thoughts on “Whirling thoughts

  1. Gillian, this is so cool!

    I did the same thing last night – my mind was whirling with possibilities and creative inspiration. I finally had to get out of bed at 2am to write some ideas down or I knew they’d be forever lost. Here’s to hoping that one day I’ll possess the skills to bring them to life… 😉

    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

