Chocolate Drop Cookies

yum!, originally uploaded by gilfling.

Okay so I won’t be giving up the day job to become a food photographer but I just had to share this recipe as they are so good!

These are divine, rich tasting little cakelets – much softer than a cookie and surprisingly healthy (or so the recipe says) with the surprise addition of cannellini beans! Yep…..beans….means fibre. We are trying to shake up our eating habits a little lately as we need to lose more than a few pounds and I have been cooking a lot of meals from both the GI diet book by Rick Gallop and the GI diet by Antony Worrall Thompson and in both, the recipes are delicious and easy to make and certainly don’t make you feel like you are on a ‘diet’.

So these are from the Rick Gallop book and I made a couple of adjustments to the recipe according to the ingredients I had in my store cupboard (which probably doesn’t make them quite as healthy as they should be) and I have put those in brackets. (Next time i will follow the recipe the the letter and see how they turn out)

chocolate Drop Cookies

First off you need to make a bean puree which forms the basis for the recipe. In a food processor puree 250ml (1/2 pint) cooked cannellini beans with 2tbsp wheat bran (I used oat bran) and 60ml (2 fl oz) skimmed milk.This makes enough bean puree for 2 batches of cookies – you can use half for one batch and freeze the rest for up to 2 weeks. ( I didn’t measure the beans before soaking them so ended up with enough bean puree for 5 batches – oops)

So the actual recipe is

90g (3oz) non hydrogenated soft margarine (I used 45g butter and 45g rapeseed oil and they turned out fine)
90g (3oz) wholemeal flour
8 tbsp sugar substitute (I used 3 tbsp fructose sugar)
125ml (4 fl oz) bean puree (see above)
35g (1 1/2 oz) unsweetened cocoa powder
60 ml (2 fl oz ) skimmed milk (I used semi skimmed)
1 egg
2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp baking soda

1 In a bowl using an electric beater, mix all the ingredients until combined.
2 Drop tablespoons of the mixture onto a greaseproof-paper-lined baking sheet. Bake in a 190 C (gas mark 5) oven for about 10 minutes or until firm to the touch. Let cool.

Makes about 24 cookies which can be store in an air tight container for about 3 days at room temperature or in freezer for up to 3 weeks.

So simple and so delicious! I have been having one with my mid morning cup of tea and they do satisfy those cake cravings.

It is so drizzly and grey out there today so I am going to be doing a little bit of sculpting and a little bit of embroidering whilst catching up on recorded TV – I am loving the Sky Atlantic channel with the new programmes, in particular Boardwalk Empire and Treme (love, love, love the soundtrack) – perfect for working away to. The Killing is also a smash hit in this household – brilliant slow-burning plot, fantastic acting. 20 episodes of brilliant drama although not so great to work to with it’s subtitles. So there we go – amateur tv critic as well as amateur food photographer and baker.

Wishing you a wonderful weekend! x

PS I will be messaging everyone who submitted a story for Janek today so if you don’t hear anything from me please let me know!

Leave a Reply

