work in progress

work in progress, originally uploaded by gilfling.

Another Wednesday, another work in progress shot. I have been looking at story books from my childhood for colour inspirations and I just love the butter yellow of this new character’s jacket – although it is a little too bright for my aesthetic but a little antiquing stain will soon sort that out!

As you can also see by the note underneath him, I am a list-maker. I love the action of writing a list of ‘things-to-do’ and breaking each task into smaller tasks. I find that it helps me focus on what needs to be done and of course there is the reward of ticking each thing off once completed!

I am sure I intended on doing this before now, but as I am preparing for my upcoming art market in Holmfirth, I have been thinking of all the steps that need to be done when preparing for a show or an exhibition and that when you are first starting out how absolutely overwhelming it can be. I used to be terrible at it, leaving everything till the very last minute and ending up in a panic at 2 in the morning of the actual show, knowing that I would not get everything done. Anyway, over the last few years I have become much more organised and developed a routine that works for me. I was thinking it might be useful to write this all out for anyone who might find it useful so I have begun this wee project of putting it all on paper – soon to be on the blog! I might even include the mistakes I have made and the messes I have gotten myself into so that you know what not to do! Anyway I have made a start on this and will be sure to let you know when it is done.

I hope you have a productive and happy day!

xxx

3 thoughts on “work in progress

  1. what a cutie 🙂
    i think it would be very helpful to write up the do’s and don’ts – one of the joys of t’internet – learning aswell as getting a peek into each others’ thought processes…

Leave a Reply

