Falling in love….

yorkshire, originally uploaded by gilfling.

So much to love about the weekend we just had camping near Hebden Bridge in West Yorkshire. I love camping… the fresh air, the being away from home with no distractions of tv’s, pc’s …stuff. Mark prefers campsites with better facilities…. me… it does not bother me so much and I am just grateful to get away. The campsite we were at had wooden pods, but I love the whole setting up of the tent, sitting in the wind, kettle on the mini-stove, coffee-making, bacon and eggs, watching the camp-site kids playing and running around. I just love it all.

I also fell in love with Yorkshire once again. The crooked patchwork fields with falling down stone walls and abandoned farm buildings all surrounded by the lavender and ochre coloured moors. There is such a strong sense of history here, of community and stories of times gone by that I do not yet know. I have my heart set on moving there someday – a house with an adjoining studio and the fields on my doorstep. Dreams can come true can’t they?

There are many places I wish to live in my dreams, Cornwall, Derbyshire, Yorkshire, the Highlands of Scotland. I guess the location does not matter so much…………the important thing is access to land, space and sky, to be able to traipse through fields, woods or beaches for hours on end. To be able to find new inspirations for artwork and dreams on a daily basis in my surroundings. To leave the city, the busyness, and it’s grey boxes behind.

I also fell in love with the shop I was delivering work to in Hebden Bridge – Home…Oh! is all I imagined it to be and more!! A real shop of curiosities and characters. Warren, Marcus and Christopher have created a beautiful space and the mix of work is wonderful – I almost cried when I saw how much thought and care has been taken with the way my characters are displayed. I hope to beg some photo’s of the shop from the boys to show you soon! One of my very favourite fellow makers also has his work there – Mr Finch and I was delighted to see how well our work sits together. He also has an etsy shop and I have my eye on so many of his pieces such as the birdhouses, magpies and especially the hares.  I was also very pleased to meet him in person at the grand shop opening!

I still have a few bits and pieces to finish off and send to the shop and will be showing you the finished ones throughout this week………..so it is off to the studio for me!

x x x

2 thoughts on “Falling in love….

Leave a Reply

