Space to breathe…..

Hello friends! Gosh I have been absent from here for a while, haven’t I? Every so often I just need to switch off for a little bit, spend alot less time on the computer and on-line, recharge and put all my energy into work and living and that is what I have been doing. I also had a lovely trip up to Scotland to visit with my family and friends, seeing folks I hadn’t set eyes on for almost 2 and a half years, walking, talking, drinking lots of coffee and just taking it all in.

But now I am back and as much as it is not in my nature to think ahead (I much prefer living in the moment….) I must now get focussed on preparing lots of work for all my upcoming shows this season. I feel in a really good place right now as far as my work is concerned. After last year where I could only attend one show, I now have some of the very best ones coming up and I am so excited and grateful to have been accepted for them.

Number One on my list of ‘things to do’ last week was to get my studio in order. Although it doesn’t have to be pristine for me to enjoy working there, it needs to be functional and the previous lay-out just wasn’t working for me. So I decided to have a complete switch around and now I couldn’t be happier!! So if you don’t mind a few photo’s and are interested in seeing my creative space then read on ………

Please excuse the darkness of the images – I only have one small window at the end so it is a really hard space to photograph!! Anyway here you can see the before photo – yes, it is a huge space and I am so very lucky to have this room to work in…. but this table in the middle just wasn’t working. It was covered with all my painting materials and I really wanted to have this table clear so that I can make myself some dresses as it is the ideal height – so it had to be moved.

I had the idea that I really wanted to create clear areas for all the different things that I do, instead of the chaotic mess that it was before, where I was constantly having to move stuff around in order to do anything.

 

So here is the room now – still dark, but with the central area clear it feel so much bigger and I have room to breathe.

So now this is my main work-table where I can do all my sculpting and making of characters – anything that I need to do sitting down. All my tools and materials are to hand – it might not look like it, but it is actually very organised!

This bookcase has always been used for finished work but was previously tucked away in a corner and was quite hard to get to. Now it is next to my work-table I will find it motivating to see all my finished work in one place.

This was the table that was in the centre of the room, covered in all my painting materials. Last year I bought some fabric intending to make myself a couple dresses and got all my paterns out from uni, with a real desire to start making my own clothes but just could never summon the energy to clear this table so that I could do my pattern-cutting at it. Now I have, there is no excuse! New clothes here I come!

My sewing machine is in place and now all I have to do, is dig my overlocker out from under a pile of boxes and I am good to go.

So now I have a new, clear painting area on an old table and with my new easel. It is much closer to the window and now I don’t have to worry about clearing the table to work on other things – it can stay just as it is.

I have so much stuff but on this occassion I didn’t throw anything out – I may need it in the future! But now that it is tidier and more open, it doesn’t feel anywhere near as cluttered or oppressive. It might not be pretty, my storage doesn’t match and it won’t win any awards for style or appear in any publications for being a beautiful space, but I do love my studio. It is functional and has everything I need. I also don’t have far to go to get to work in the morning. Goodness knows what I will do if I ever have to move into a smaller house. So now I have a clear space and a clear head to start preparations for all my upcoming exhibitions and events!

Hope you enjoyed my studio tour and well done if you make it all the way through. So now I am off to work and to immerse myself in making 🙂

x x x

2 thoughts on “Space to breathe…..

  1. I enjoyed your studio tour and the before and after photos – congrats on all that hard work! I am still waiting for the day when I can have all my stuff in a dedicated art room, so in the meantime I still have lots of excuses why I can’t start on my many clothes sewing projects;-) Enjoy your new space, Gillian:-) xoxo

  2. hi gillian, studio looking fab, i can’t wait to get back into mine this thursday. I was wondering whether you can recommend any good life drawing classes in notts, steve came up with the idea for bday pressie from my friends (always full of good ideas!!) and I wondered if you knew of any good ones?? Be good to catch up soon x x

Leave a Reply

