Whimsical Creatures Workshop

Whimsical Creatures Workshop, originally uploaded by gilfling.

Aaah Monday, Monday. I am excited to be starting a new week and hopefully getting back into the way of blogging on a more regular basis after a Summer of busyness. I have so much to do and so much to share!

Last week we had a wonderful few days away camping in Yorkshire where we were joined for a couple of days by my dad and step-mum. I love everything about camping – I still need to check my camera to find out if I took any photo’s at all (although I fear not…) so will blog about this later in the week.

Today though I wanted to share some images from a workshop I taught just over a week ago at Lakeside Arts Centre in Nottingham. This was my first workshop in over 2 years so I was incredibly nervous – also, although I have taught felt-making and bookbinding and mixed media techniques I had never taught something so close to my current practice. After a lot of planning and making I came up with the idea of creating simple ‘Whimsical Creatures’ out of cloth with hand-painting.

What a wonderful day it turned out to be!! I had the seven loveliest ladies who were incredibly patient with me and an inspiration in that they worked incredibly hard and created the most wonderful creatures. I only wish I had more (and better) photos to show you.

It was quite an ambitious day and I had worried before hand that it might be a little too much to complete in one day especially as everything had to be hand stitched. But everyone worked so hard and I loved every minute of it. I really must thank each and every one for attending and helping me to gain just that wee bit more confidence in my teaching abilities as I am a bit of a worrier!

It was also lovely to meet Charlotte from A chest of delights – a fellow Nottingham resident and blogger who is also a wonderfully talented artist. You can read her blog post on the workshop here. Anyway here are just a few photos from the day and I am now looking for further teaching opportunities for the future so have a list of places to email this week. Wish me luck!

x x x

3 thoughts on “Whimsical Creatures Workshop

  1. Thank you Gill, it was a lovely day and I really enjoyed working with everyone. To anyone who reads Gills blog, look out for the workshops as they are well worth doing. Lots of to learn, in very good company with a very good teacher.

    • Hi Thilda – thank you so much for visiting – I use linen/cotton mix fabric and vintage wherever possible. I do gesso the fabric before painting as it gives a good surface for the paint to adhere to – hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

