My Inspiration…

Inspiration…, originally uploaded by gilfling.

Just a real quickie post today as it is my day for working my part-time job so time is short. But I just thought I would show you a photograph I took of my painting board. At the top you can see print outs of some photographs I took a couple of years ago at Robin Hoods Bay in Yorkshire. It is one of my favourite places and I really hope to go back there soon.m I had been meaning to use these as inspiration for such a long time but as is my way, it takes me a little while to get there. I like to think that these last couple of years, these images have been resting in my thoughts and dreams, just waiting to make an appearance.

Robin Hood’s Bay is a tiny coastal village perched on a really steep hillside and it is filled with quirky and interesting doorways and ancient stone walls and this amazing set of steps that disappear to who-knows-where. I could imagine Captains and Fishermen and their wives and families roaming the tiny streets, telling stories and sharing tales of hardship and strong communities.

I am always inspired by tales of the sea and seafarers and these doorways really make me wonder about the stories of the people who live there. I guess that more than anything this is what I want to translate to the viewer of my paintings. I want the viewer to wonder what the stories might be of the characters I am creating. I am hoping that you will feel the history and the atmosphere; to wonder where these characters have been, what are their thoughts and worries and charms and hopes and dreams.

I guess more than anything, in my own small way, I want to be a storyteller, with you the viewer joining me on a journey.

More tomorrow!

One thought on “My Inspiration…

  1. Robin Hood’s Bay,
    The name says it all!
    I can imagine that it is very easy to get inspired strolling around in such a beautiful place! And indeed, we creative people, we love to tell stories of the impressions we keep safe in our soul to let them make an appearance from time to time.

Leave a Reply

