There is always a flicker of hope – process of a painting

At last I have been able to make time to put the progress of this last painting together into a mosaic. I am pretty sure she is done but will keep her on the easel a few more days just to see. It is an interesting process looking at the progress shots and seeing all the changes that were made – also to remember the times when I thought it was going nowhere or that I had ruined it.

I took a bit of drastic action after photo number 7 as I wanted to push the background further back so that she would stand out a little more so I covered the whole background with a glaze of blue oilstick and I think it has worked – I know that I prefer it now anyway.

As for her story – well I guess that is for the viewer to wonder about. But for me, she harks back to some previous paintings I worked on 2 or 3 years ago where I had read ‘In the heart of the sea’ for about the tenth time and was thinking about these sailors off to sea for months and years at a time, sometimes never to return. The wives left at home, forming strong communities of their own – some were possibly quite happy with this situation but I am sure there were others who would always wonder whether they would see their husbands again. Others, such as this sorrowful lass would know that their love was lost at sea, but might always keep a small flicker of hope that one day they would return. She wanders those hills and narrow streets with a lantern to light her way, hoping that it would guide him home too.

So there we go! The rest of this week is a sculpting week but I will be starting a new painting next week and I can’t wait to get back to the easel again.

I need to get some better shots of this painting but hope to release it as a print soon.

x x x

5 thoughts on “There is always a flicker of hope – process of a painting

  1. lovely to see the progression of your work. For me, the change in background turns it to dusk – perfect for lanterns and lost loves.

  2. Gillian – I do love reading your blog. It’s so inspiring and I love seeing behind the scenes of my favourite artists. Thanks. xx

  3. Amazing seeing the progression of this piece Gillian, which is now hanging proudly in Heart Gallery. You are so talented; the emotion in the painting is so real and there really always is a flicker of hope x

Leave a Reply

