A new painting from my studio

Progress of a painting 1, originally uploaded by gilfling.

This year has so far been all about working in my studio – lots of drawing, lots of dreaming, re-ordering materials, gathering ideas for new work – it all takes time. I love this process, the flitting between things dreamt, unfinished and in progress. At some point it all starts to come together and from that place I can start painting.

2

A strange and unexpected thing has happened since I have had to reduce my studio time due to working extra hours at my part time job. I feel under less pressure to create and finish works that I am not happy with – with less hours, I have more time to just draw and paint the things that are in my imagination and not what I think people are expecting from me. More structure and less time has brought about a sense of freedom and permission to just get on and ‘do’ rather than waste time worrying.

3

So with an exhibition deadline looming, and having spent the last 2 months drawing for the love of it, this painting just appeared in a very natural and fluid way. Not much forethought or planning but a quick glance through my sketchbooks and painting journal and then I was on my way.

4

I don’t often have a clear idea of an image when I start, I just put pencil to paper (or board in this case) and start creating lines and shapes and I let the composition appear – it is very intuitive even if the final image looks as if a lot of thought has gone into it. I paint in lots of thin layers, the image constantly changing as I go.

5

So here is the final painting – thinking of a title is almost the most difficult thing, but again, it comes in its own time. And so ‘The place where you can remember dreaming’ has left my studio today to be photographed and framed. (The title comes from a quote from Peter Pan by J M Barrie – it just seemed to suit)  This painting incorporates lots of lovely warm layers of colour, some sgraffito and a final layer to create depth in the acrylics. A joy to work on and I am pleased with the final piece. It is off to London this weekend to take part in a show called After the Monet – a wee exhibition of artists who took part in last years Show me the Monet on BBC2. I can’t wait to see all the work together!

2013-02-24 00.47.36

Lastly a wee detail shot to show the colours and textures. I have been looking at lots of photos of abandoned buildings lately (something I am really drawn to and would love to have a shot at myself) and wanted this hallway to look as if it had decades of layers of peeling paint and wallpaper. Incidentally this painting originally was going to be set in a narrow street but turned out to be indoors. That is what I love about painting – nothing is set in stone as you are working – it can all change.

5 thoughts on “A new painting from my studio

  1. Gillian I absolutely love this you can almost feel the freedom in it. Great to hear how much you are enjoying your art at the moment and good luck with After the Monet. Much love Dawn x

  2. “That is what I love about painting – nothing is set in stone as you are working – it can all change.”~ Totally agree with your comment. I’ve reworked on my latest painting so many times, until every inch of me was satisfied.
    It’s all part of growth as an artist.
    Wishing you well with your exhibition!!!

  3. This is lovely Gillian. There is something about it that reminds me of the Princess Su Su exhibition in 2003. She lived in the wallpaper of a castle, ignored by the occupants! This was one of the loveliest exhibitions I’ve seen. There’s not much left about it on the web but here’s a link http://www.culture24.org.uk/art/art18678 to a description of it from Brighton and Hove. I love where your imagination takes you.

Leave a Reply

