(ad)Venturing into oils.

2013-03-13 21.40.48

After thinking about venturing into oils for ever such a long time.. and thinking.. and thinking, I finally got out those tubes of paint that have been hiding away in my studio for ever and a day and got to it. I have worked in just about every media you can buy in an art supplies catalogue but for some reason have always been fearful of trying out oil painting – the ‘fat over lean’ rule confusing me, the endless oil mediums available and the worry of ruining work by not understanding the fundamentals, scaring me off. Sometimes it feel like you need a degree in chemistry to understand the rules of creating art!

But then sometimes you just have to jump in at the deep end and learn by your mistakes – appreciating the process without worrying about the result and so that is how I eventually came to begin last week. I have been reading a few art books lately on materials and techniques but really I know that it is only by getting the brushes and paints out that I will  learn. So above and below are my first and second attempts in oil paints. I have so much to learn! I am finding the technique for laying down the paint is very different from acrylics (I usually work in acrylics, inks, pencils and oil sticks) and it is taking a bit of getting used to.

2013-03-13 23.48.01

With these 2 studies (first a self portrait, second from an inspiration image) I have really just been trying to make a start, to see how the oils work, how to lay down the marks and get a feel for the paint but I am looking forward to learning so much more and finding my own way with them, pushing them to create my own style as I have done with other media. I have a long way to go and this is just the beginning but I am excited to at last be trying them out. Lets see where they take me!

2 thoughts on “(ad)Venturing into oils.

  1. I’ve been feeling exactly the same and have avoided using my oils for ages! I too feel like I need a chemistry degree just to not mess up the results…Let us know how it goes – any basic guidance I can get is greatly appreciated! It looks like you’ve made a great start (lovely as always!)

    Rosie

Leave a Reply

