Painted journal ….

Painted journal ....

There is something so freeing about painting in a journal or sketchbook…letting go of the pressure that this painting must be good enough to exhibit or sell. It is just for me. There are no expectations. I can take my time or work quickly and intuitively. It might inspire future work, or it might remain hidden, only to be seen on those occassions when I flick through those thick, rumpled pages. But sometimes it is also nice to share it and show another side of my work. But always with that melancholy nature and the attempt at creating atmosphere and emotion

I admit to an addiction. Moleskines… with their perfectly black covers and the paper inside that in the sketchbooks is smooth and takes pencil so well… or the watercolour books that take any amount of paint and water and mixed media and are so forgiving of the layers and layers that you can keep applying.

Another studio day today and I can’t wait to get started!

x x x

2 thoughts on “Painted journal ….

  1. I completely agree Gillian! I find that my imagination finds a freedom in my sketchbooks that my perfectionist nature struggles to find on a blank canvas. My pencils, pens & brushes can merrily have fun without constraint & sometimes the best ideas come from these doodling’s…

    Also, just wanted to say that I love your creations…so haunting

Leave a Reply

