Expecting the Unexpected

Expecting the Unexpected

Part of being an artist, I feel, is enabling others to enjoy the ability to create something out of nothing – something so unique to you – to express a part of ourselves that might take some finding. Each person who teaches art brings something of their own character to the process but ultimately what you try to do is to help students discover their own path and that is very exciting!

Now that I am focussed on my painting and own creative development I am looking forward to finding more opportunities for teaching in 2014.

On 16th November 2013 I am teaching a drawing workshop in Nottingham at the wonderful Focus Gallery.

The class description is as follows –

I have no fear of making changes, destroying the image, etc., because the painting has a life of its own. 
Jackson Pollock

This particular session will begin with a demonstration and instructions in drawing the head in charcoal and pastels. We will concentrate on exercises to loosen up and break past our own fears about drawing with unexpected results. Working from a life model with some quick drawings and then longer poses to put into practice the skills you have learned. A relaxed and fun introduction into drawing portraits.

I have a few places remaining and should you be interested you can book your spot here.

Would love to see you there!

2 thoughts on “Expecting the Unexpected

  1. Hi Gillian, I’d love to do this 🙂 Do you know if there is disabled access? I can walk a little with a stick, but would need to sit the rest of the time. Any great distance, I need my wheelchair. And I only have use of my left side – having suffered a stroke 6 years ago… Many thanks, Claire

Leave a Reply

