Sketchbook Sunday

Painted moleskine

Sundays were made for working in sketchbooks right? I think so. I have several on the go at all times but probably my favourite one is my large A3 watercolour Moleskine.

I have taken it to the last few shows I have exhibited at and it gets as much attention (if not more, dammit) as my framed work. People love flicking through the pages, running their hands over them (I don’t mind really) or holding the edges of each page with a kind of reverence, surprised that I allow anyone to look through. I do because I love seeing that expression on someone’s face who gets it. Who feels the way that I do. That paint is magical and to have that medium to express yourself is truly a treasure.

I paint in this book in the way that I would like to paint on canvas. With complete freedom to make lines and put down colours with no thought or worry about it having to be perfect. An idea for a painting or just a face that is waiting to be put on paper. Whatever I feel at that moment in time.

This was today’s and I kind of like ‘him’. I am pretty sure it is a Him.

x x x

4 thoughts on “Sketchbook Sunday

  1. Sketchbooks are magical and one of the reasons is that they are a book, something small and intimate that you can hold. We rarely get to touch ART, but a book is made to be touched. Even though it might cause some smudging, I love that you let people get close to your work. Love the emerging man!

  2. Hi there Joy – thanks so much for your comment – yes you are so right in the intimacy of sketchbooks. I do love it that people look through – sketchbooks for me are also about the process of working rather than the end result – just enjoying working with paint and other materials for the sake of it. x

Leave a Reply

